Functions of HPSC

HPSC has six main areas of responsibility:

  1. Surveillance of some of the major communicable diseases. By surveillance, we mean:
    • Collecting data
    • Collating it
    • Analysing it and
    • Communicating information to those who need to know
  2. Operational support - providing expert advice to, and responding to requests for support from, departments of public health or hospitals;
  3. Training for professionals working in communicable disease control;
  4. Research - identifying and developing best practice in communicable diseases;
  5. Policy advice - providing advice to government departments and appropriate agencies in relation to the development of standards, guidelines and practices, and promoting the adoption of best practice by different agencies;
  6. Public information - providing information on infectious diseases to the public and the media.