Aspergillosis Sub-Committee

Terms of Reference
To review the recommendations of the 2002 national guidelines and update if required.

On-going Work
The "National Guidelines for the Prevention of Nosocomial Aspergillosis during Construction/Renovation Activities" were produced by a Sub-Committee of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Health Protection Surveillance Centre (formerly NDSC) in 2002. These are available at These guidelines are to be updated.

Professor Tom Rogers, Head of Clinical Microbiology, Trinity College Dublin (Chair)
Dr Colette Bonner, Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health and Children
Dr Eoghan de Barra, Specialist Registrar in Infectious Disease Medicine, RCSI
Mr Gareth Davies, Estates Directorate Manager for Health and Safety and Infrastructural Risk, HSE
Dr Lynda Fenelon, Consultant Microbiologist, St Vincent’s University Hospital, Dublin
Margaret Fitzgerald PhD, Senior Surveillance Scientist, HSE Health Protection Surveillance Centre
Mr Tony Kelly, Corporate Estate Manager, National Directorate of Estates, HSE
Mr Sean Mahon, Managing Director, O’Connell Mahon Architects
Dr Olive Murphy, Consultant Microbiologist, Bon Secours Hospital, Cork
Ms Angela O’Donoghue, Assistant Director of Nursing/Infection Prevention & Control, Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin, Dublin 12
Dr Niamh O’Sullivan, Consultant Microbiologist, Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin, Dublin 12
Mr Brendan Redington, Estates Manager Quality & Standards, HSE
Dr Alida Fe Talento, Research Fellow, Trinity College Dublin

Last updated: 31 July 2013